All About Hit and Run Crimes in California

All About Hit and Run Crimes in California

In California, anyone involved in an automobile accident is required to pull over and stop. And if the accident involves damage to property or a parked vehicle, then those involved must make an effort to locate the owner of the property or vehicle to notify him or her of the collision. Below is some helpful information on hit and run crimes in California.

 

What is a hit and run crime?  

 

In California, a driver can be charged with hit and run if:

 

1) He or she leaves the scene of an accident without providing identification to all other parties involved, and

 

2) The accident results in injury, death, or property damage.

 

Penalties

 

Misdemeanor hit and run

 

A hit and run can be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony in California. An individual can be charged with misdemeanor hit and run when he or she leaves the scene of an accident and:

 

  • The accident wasn’t serious and the other driver was at fault
  • He or she was involved in the accident but didn’t cause it
  • He or she caused damage to another person’s property

An individual can be charged with misdemeanor hit and run when he or she leaves the scene of an accident

A misdemeanor hit and run conviction can result in the following penalties:

 

  • Up to six months in jail
  • A fine of up to $1,000
  • An addition of two points to the defendant’s driving record by the DMV
  • Up to three years of probation
  • Restitution to the victim of the crime

 

Felony hit and run

 

For a hit and run to be charged as a felony, another person must have suffered injury or death as a result of the accident. A key component of felony hit and run is that the defendant knew or should have known that injury or death occurred as a result of the accident.

 

A felony hit and run conviction can result in the following penalties:

 

  • Up to three years in prison for a hit and run resulting in an injury
  • Up to four years in prison for a hit and run resulting in a serious injury or death
  • A fine of up to $10,000
  • An addition of two points to the defendant’s driving record by the DMV
  • Restitution to the victim of the crime

 

San Diego Criminal Defense Attorneys

 

Due to the potential consequences involved, it is important that anyone charged with misdemeanor or felony hit and run in San Diego, California, seek the guidance of an experienced criminal defense attorney. At the Law Offices of Kerry L. Armstrong, our experienced criminal defense attorneys provide all of our clients with expert legal guidance in order to achieve the most favorable results possible in both misdemeanor and felony hit and run cases. The talent and experience of our San Diego, California, attorneys ensures that our clients’ misdemeanor and felony hit and run cases are handled expertly and with the utmost care. If you or a loved one is facing misdemeanor or felony hit and run charges in California, please contact us immediately for a free consultation.

No Comments

Post A Comment